You are currently viewing 7th Alumni Main Conference

7th Alumni Main Conference

The seventh conference of Nagaloka alumni took place on November 26th up to December 1st, 2015 at the Buddha Surya Vihar, Nagaloka, Nagpur. The conference brought together 116 alumni (37 females and 79 males) from 13 states namely Arunachal Pradesh, Bihar, Chattisgarh, Jharkhand, Karnataka, Kerala, Madhya Pradesh, Maharastra, Odisha, Rajasthan, Tamil Nadu, Telangana and Uttar Pradesh. The theme of the conference was “The Commonality of the Vision of Dr. Ambedkar and Urgyen Sangharakshita”. The event was officially opened by Dhammachari Lokamitra.

The conference began with the observation of Constitution Day as the constitution of India was adopted by the Constituent Assembly on 26th November, 1949. Nagaloka Staffs, Alumni and trainees read out the preamble of constitution both in English and Hindi. Mr. Mangesh Dahiwale gave a speech on genesis and importance of constitution. Dhammachari Vivekratna shared the background of alumni conference. He opined the aim of the alumni conference has been to bring together or bind all the alumni in a harmonious way and form micro sangha where they will share their opinions, views and experiences. This is a platform created to build a strong relationship among the alumni and develop loving-kindness for each other.

Dhammachari Lokamitra conducted three hour session for the five days. During these five days, his session focused on socio-economic background of Dr. Ambedkar and Sangharakhita; commonality of western and eastern Buddhist; their thoughts and characteristics of an individual and groups; purification of mind; and importance of Sangha which he sees as microcosm of new society.

Other activities includes presentations by alumni sharing their social activities and experiences, career guidance session by Mr. Prashant Rokade (IAS) and Mr. Mangesh Dahiwale, presentation by Mr. Gauthama Prabhu on upcoming alumni projects, formation of alumni General Council of 31 members and Central Executive Council which include nine members. Jaidev and his team from Uttar Pradesh entertained the participants with cultural programme.

The event was concluded in the presence of Trustees – Vivekratna and Maitreyanath with vote of thanks.